Winter Wheat

Timing is crucial when it comes to seeding winter wheat. Winter wheat has its greatest success when it is seeded in late August to mid September. A well-managed crop can have a 20 percent yield advantage over spring wheat. Winter wheat is seeded on about 1 million acres in Western Canada as growers use the crop to help break up pest cycles and spread out workload throughout the year. In Western Canada winter wheat is seeded into standing stubble, primarily canola stubble, to trap snow and moisture over the winter months. In the rest of Canada, where winter-kill is less of a threat, winter wheat can be seeded into tilled fields.


Raxil
Raxil® seed treatments provide you with first-class disease control and a stronger, faster emergence that helps your field realize its full potential. With superior overwintering, Raxil lays the groundwork for a successful season.
Learn More
 



Management practices help reduce threat from disease


When Canadian growers first started growing winter wheat, rust devastated crops and made producers nervous about giving the crop a second chance. New disease management technologies and strategies have changed the situation completely. However despite these advancements, currently registered varieties still have low levels of disease resistance. Crop rotation, seed treatments and a fungicide application remain the best ways to keep disease out of the crop. Some common diseases in winter wheat include common root rot, ergot, fusarium head blight, seed- and soil-borne fusarium, pythium, rusts, Septoria, snow mould, tan spot, and wheat streak mosaic virus.


Folicur EW
From flag leaf timing, right through to heading, Folicur® EW provides proven disease protection, including rust in winter wheat.
Learn More
Prosaro
Get superior yield and quality with Prosaro® fungicide, the best defense for leaf and head diseases including protection from fusarium head blight.
Learn More



Take advantage of a competitive crop


There are few crops in Canada that are as competitive as winter wheat, making them easier to manage than many other options. As with all crops however, they require a weed-free period in order to ensure establishment, the difference with winter wheat is that this primarily occurs in the fall. Common weeds include winter annual weeds like stinkweed, shepherd’s purse, narrow leaved hawk’s beard and flixweed and fall germinated cleavers.


Varro
Wheat growers love Varro® for its powerful control of grass weeds like wild oats even if they are resistant to Group-1 chemistries.
Learn More
Velocity m3
All-in-one Velocity m3 for wheat combines the power of three different herbicide Groups in one solution for superior control of the toughest grass and broadleaf weeds.
Learn More



Manage insect pressure in the field


Early maturity relative to spring planted cereals is an advantage, as it makes the crop less susceptible to insects at a critical time in its development. However scouting remains the most effective tool to manage insect infestations with a timely insecticide application. Wheat curl mites can be an issue as they are hosts for the wheat streak mosaic virus. The disease can remain virulent within the mites for up to a week. Other insects to watch for are aphids, the hessian fly, wheat stem fly and wheat stem maggot.

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Blé d’hiver

Le facteur temps est crucial lorsqu’il s’agit de l’ensemencement du blé d’hiver. Semé de la fin août à la mi-septembre, le blé d’hiver peut connaïtre un grand succès. Une culture bien gérée peut offrir un rendement supérieur de 20 pour cent à celui du bl&eagrave; de printemps. Parce qu’ils utilisent cette culture dans une stratégie visant à briser le cycle des parasites, les producteurs peuvent ensemencer 900 000 acres de blé d’hiver, créant ainsi des habitats durables et gérant la charge de travail tout au long de l’année. Au cours de l’hiver dans l’Ouest canadien, le blé d’hiver est semé dans des champs de chaume sur pied, principalement du chaume de canola, afin d’emprisonner la neige et l’humidité pendant les mois d’hiver. Dans le reste du Canada où la destruction hivernale se montre moins menaçante, le blé d’hiver est semé dans les champs labourés.


Raxil
Les traitements de semences RaxilMD procurent un contrôle exceptionnel des maladies et favorisent une levéle plus robuste et plus rapide, pour aider votre champ à atteindre son plein potentiel. Grâce à ses propriétés d’hivernage supérieures, Raxil prépare le terrain pour une saison fructueuse.
Apprenez-en plus
 



Les pratiques de gestion contribuent à réduire la menace des maladies


Les premiers essais de culture de blé d’hiver par les producteurs canadiens ont été ravagés par la rouille. Il n’est pas étonnant que les producteurs se soient montrés un peu frileux pour donner une deuxième chance au blé d’hiver. De nouvelles technologies et stratégies de gestion des maladies ont toutefois totalement changé la donne. Mais malgré tous ces progrès, les variétés actuellement homologuées présentent toujours un faible niveau de résistance à la maladie. La rotation des cultures et l’application de fongicide demeurent les meilleures façons de conserver les cultures exemptes de maladie. Le pourridié commun, l’ergot, la fusariose de l’épi, les fusarioses transmises par le sol ou par les semences, le pythium, les rouilles, la tache septorienne, la moisissure des neiges, la tache helminthosporienne et les virus de la mosaïque du blé figurent parmi certaines des maladies les plus fréquentes dans les cultures du blé d’hiver.


Folicur EW
Du stade de la feuille étendard jusqu’à l’épiaison, FolicurMD EW procure une protection éprouvée contre les maladies, y compris la rouille, dans le blé d’hiver.
Apprenez-en plus
Prosaro
Obtenez une qualité et un rendement supérieurs avec le fongicide ProsaroMD, la meilleure protection contre les maladies du feuillage et de l’épi, dont la brûlure de l’épi causée par le Fusarium.
Apprenez-en plus



Misez sur une culture très combative


Il y a peu de cultures au Canada qui sont aussi combatives que le blé d’hiver. Il représente donc une option plus facile à gérer. Toutefois, comme pour toutes les cultures, son établissement requiert une période exempte de mauvaises herbes. À la différence des autres cultures, cette période critique doit être située en automne, ce qui coïncide alors avec la germination des mauvaises herbes annuelles et d’automne. La compétition est donc très féroce. Les mauvaises herbes les plus fréquentes à se mesurer au blé d’hiver sont les annuelles d’hiver comme le tabouret des champs, la bourse-à-pasteur, le crépis des toits, la sagesse-des-chirurgiens et le gaillet gratteron, qui germe à l’automne.


Varro
Les producteurs de blé adorent VarroMD en raison de son contrôle puissant des mauvaises herbes graminées, comme la folle avoine, même si ces populations sont résistantes aux produits chimiques du groupe 1.
Apprenez-en plus
Velocity m3
Le produit tout-en-un Velocity m3 pour le blé combine la puissance de trois différents groupes d’herbicides en une seule et même solution procurant un contrôle supérieur des mauvaises herbes graminées et à feuilles larges les plus récalcitrantes.
Apprenez-en plus



Gérez la pression des insectes dans les champs


L’épiaison précoce est un des avantages du blé d’hiver puisqu’elle rend le blé moins vulnérable aux insectes à un moment critique de son développement. Toutefois, l’inspection reste l’outil le plus efficace pour gérer les infestations d’insectes par l’application d’insecticide, au moment opportun. Les acariens du blé peuvent devenir un problème puisqu’ils sont parfois les hôtes du virus de la mosaïque du blé. Les pucerons, la mouche de Hesse, la mouche de la tige du blé et l’asticot de la tige du blé figurent parmi les autres insectes à surveiller.

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

copyright-bayercropscience-r