Blueberries

As the world’s second largest blueberry producer, Canada’s blueberry industry continues to thrive with strong crop prices and high demand. Two types of blueberry production combine to make it Canada’s largest fruit crop by acreage. Highbush, or cultivated blueberries, are the higher value crop and are generally easier to manage using agricultural machinery. Lowbush blueberries have a unique set of issues as they generally propagate underground, rather than through seeding, and their delicate nature can offer greater management challenges for producers.


Disease control protects floral buds and yield


Lowbush blueberries are susceptible to Canada’s most common disease pathogen – rust. Septoria leaf spot is also a threat for lowbush blueberries. Both diseases can be managed with a foliar, systemic fungicide applied in the sprout year of the plant. Highbush blueberries are at risk from anthracnose, which makes the berries unmarketable if not controlled. Other disease such as phomopsis and phythopthora attack the plant roots and can ultimately cause plant death.


Clear ground to manage weeds


The weed profile for lowbush and highbush blueberries varies greatly. Annual weeds tend to be more of an issue for highbush crops, as it is easier to clear the ground below the plants each season to reduce perennial weed concerns. While more challenging, it’s also important to keep the ground as clean as possible for lowbush blueberries. Cultural methods such as hand weeding, managing stands, periodic burns and mowing can help reduce weed pressure.


Determine economic thresholds for insect control


Scouting is key to insect management in blueberries. While common in-season, aphids aren’t problematic until they reach threshold levels where by 30% of the shoot tips are infested. Aphids are problematic because they feed on new shoots by sucking plant sap. They can also become a vector for disease. European chafers and Japanese beetles, commonly called white grubs, feed on the roots and can reduce productivity of the plant. They can be especially harmful in highbush blueberries in early years following planting.

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Bleuets

Deuxième producteur mondial de bleuets, l’industrie canadienne du bleuet poursuit sa croissance avec des prix vigoureux et une demande en hausse. Deux types de cultures du bleuet se sont jumelés pour devenir la production de fruits la plus importante à l’acre, au Canada. Le bleuet en corymbe, ou bleuet de culture, représente la plus grande valeur et est généralement plus facile à gérer avec un équipement agricole. La culture du bleuet nain comporte des problèmes particuliers puisque ce type de bleuet se propage sous la terre plutôt que par ensemencement et que sa nature délicate pose aux producteurs de plus grands défis de gestion.


Le contrôle des maladies protège les boutons floraux et les rendements


Le bleuet nain est particulièrement sensible au microbe pathogène le plus répandu au Canada : celui de la rouille. La tache septorienne est également une menace pour le bleuet nain. Les deux maladies peuvent être gérées par l’application d’un fongicide foliaire systémique durant l’année de pousse végétative du plant. Le bleuet nain peut produire des fruits invendables s’il est exposé à l’anthracnose sans un traitement approprié. D’autres maladies comme le phomopsis et l’infection au phytopte attaquent le système racinaire et pourraient causer la mort du plant.


Désherber pour mieux contrôler les mauvaises herbes


Les types de mauvaises herbes qui voisinent les cultures de bleuet nain ou en corymbe varient considérablement. Les mauvaises herbes annuelles ont tendance à être plus problématiques pour les bleuets en corymbe, puisqu’il est plus facile de désherber le sol sous le plan chaque saison et d’éliminer ainsi les espèces vivaces. Bien que la tâche soit difficile, il est important de maintenir le sol aussi propre que possible dans la culture de bleuets nains. Les méthodes culturales comme le désherbage manuel, la gestion des peuplements, le fauchage et le brûlage périodiques peuvent réduire le stress causé par les mauvaises herbes.


Fixer des seuils économiques dans la lutte contre les insectes


L’inspection est un élément clé de la gestion de la culture des bleuets. Bien qu’ils soient fréquents en saison, les pucerons ne deviennent problématiques que lorsque 30 pour cent des extrémités des pousses du plant en sont infestées. Les pucerons deviennent une menace puisqu’ils se nourrissent de la sève de la plante par la succion des nouvelles pousses et peuvent facilement agir comme vecteur de maladie. Le hanneton européen et le scarabée japonais, communément appelés vers blancs, se nourrissent quant à eux à même les racines et peuvent réduire la productivité du plant et être particulièrement nocifs pour les bleuets en corymbe dans les premières années qui suivent la plantation.

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

copyright-bayercropscience-r