Dry Beans


Prevention plan key to controlling diseases


From seedling to bacterial to viral to foliar, dry beans are more susceptible to diseases than most other crops. With such a high potential for the occurrence of yield robbing diseases, a comprehensive prevention plan is essential for a successful season. Key components of that plan should include the selection of resistant varieties and rotation of crops. Scouting for insects, like white flies and aphids, that transmit disease is also part of an effective management strategy. A seed treatment can be useful in preventing or reducing the effects of fusarium, rhizoctonia and pythium. A timely fungicide application can also help manage sclerotinia (white mold).


Weed management contributes to yield and quality


Weed populations always have the potential to gain the upper hand on dry bean crops. That’s why it’s important to closely monitor and scout all season long for weeds like wild buckwheat, kochia, green & yellow foxtail, wild oats, stinkweed, redroot pigweed, Canada thistle, sow thistle and lady’s thumb. In addition to scouting, an effective weed control strategy should include inter-row cultivation as well as a post-emergent in-crop herbicide application.


Keep insects away for healthier yields


Dry beans have the ability to tolerate early insect pressure. In fact, dry beans can lose up to 50% of their leaves prior to flowering without much loss of yield. The impact to defoliation is much greater at later stages. A timely insecticide application can help prevent and minimize pressure caused by armyworms, cutworms, wireworms and grasshoppers. The sap-sucking potato leafhopper can cause yield loss before damage is evident. Seed treatment and a foliar insecticide application are useful in keeping the destructive potato leafhopper from infesting dry bean fields.

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Haricots secs


La prévention : la clé du succès contre la maladie


Des semis aux bactéries et des infections virales aux maladies foliaires, les haricots secs sont plus sensibles aux maladies que la plupart des autres cultures. Avec un potentiel aussi élevé d’incidents portant atteinte aux rendements, une stratégie exhaustive de prévention est essentielle pour assurer une saison remplie de succès. Cette stratégie doit comprendre des composants essentiels comme la sélection de variétés résistantes et la rotation des cultures. Le repérage des insectes qui transmettent la maladie, comme les mouches blanches et les pucerons, fait également partie d’une stratégie de gestion efficace. Un traitement de semences peut être utile dans un contexte de prévention ou de réduction des effets du Fusarium, du Rhizoctonia et du Pythium. L’application de fongicide en temps opportun s’ajoute à l’arsenal pour le contrôle de la pourriture sclérotique (moisissure blanche).


Rendement et qualité : les conséquences de la gestion des mauvaises herbes


Les populations de mauvaises herbes ont tout le potentiel nécessaire pour avoir le dessus sur vote culture de haricots secs. C’est pourquoi il est essentiel d’exercer une étroite surveillance et d’inspecter la culture tout au long de la saison pour repérer les mauvaises herbes comme la renouée liseron, le kochia à balais, la sétaire verte et glauque, la folle avoine, le tabouret des champs, l’amarante à racine rouge, le chardon des champs, le laiteron et la renouée persicaire. En plus de l’inspection, une stratégie efficace de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes devrait inclure le sarclage entre les rangs de même qu’un traitement herbicide en postlevée.


Éloigner les insectes pour des cultures plus saines


Les haricots secs ont la capacité de tolérer le stress exercé par les insectes. En fait, ils peuvent perdre jusqu’à 50 pour cent de leurs feuilles avant la floraison sans grande perte de rendement. L’impact de la défoliation est toutefois relativement plus important à d’autres stades. Un traitement insecticide en temps opportun peut contribuer à prévenir et à minimiser le stress causé par le légionnaire, le vers gris, le ver fil-de-fer et la sauterelle. La cicadelle de la pomme de terre qui suce la sève peut causer des pertes de rendement avant même que le dommage soit évident. Le traitement de semences et l’application d’un insecticide foliaire sont utiles pour éloigner la cicadelle de la pomme de terre pouvant ravager les champs de haricots secs.

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

copyright-bayercropscience-r