Soybeans

The Canadian soybean industry has grown more than 450% since 1980, with continued growth expected into the next decade. The growth breakthrough came in the late 1970s when new varieties were developed tailored to Canada’s shorter growing season. While the bulk of soybean production remains in Ontario, breeding programs have allowed the crop to move out of southern Ontario to other areas of the province, along with Quebec, Manitoba and PEI. Today Canada is one of the top ten suppliers of soy products globally.


Different thinking needed to manage resistant weeds


For soybean growers, giant ragweed, common ragweed and giant fleabane are weeds that can cause real problems in their crop. Those weeds have become more difficult to control due to the spread of glyphosate resistance. Research from Ridgetown College shows that crop management is critical to limiting resistance and ensuring crop protection products remain effective. Rotating chemistries is an important way to keep resistance at bay and to make sure weeds are effectively controlled into the future.


Scouting is key to managing disease


Field scouting is crucial in identifying disease, but often once the disease can be seen it’s too late to effectively treat the crop. An early warning system is being developed by the University of Guelph to help soybean growers better manage disease. Seed treatments can keep away opportunistic seed-borne diseases such as fusarium root rot, rhizoctonia, pythium, phytopthora, white mould and phomopsis. Leaf diseases such as bacterial blight, leaf spot, downy mildew, powdery mildew, mosaic viruses and soybean rust can be controlled with a foliar fungicide.


Attacking insects from the ground up


Aphids are the most damaging insects for soybean growers, despite the fact that they only became an issue in Canada in 2001. Aphid damage on soybeans can ultimately result in smaller pods and a reduction in seed quality. Seed treatments provide early season control but often a foliar insecticide application is needed mid-season in years that aphid pressure is high. Seed treatments on soybeans also manage seed-borne insects such as seedcorn maggots, white grubs and borers.

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Soya

L’industrie canadienne de la culture du soya a augmenté de plus de 450 pour cent depuis 1980 et on s’attend à ce que sa croissance se poursuive au cours de la prochaine décennie. Cette progression dans la croissance s’est amorcée à la fin des années 70, lorsque de nouvelles variétés ont été développées pour s’adapter à la période de croissance plus courte du Canada. Bien que l’Ontario demeure la province de prédilection pour la majeure partie des cultures de soya, des programmes de sélection ont permis à la culture de passer du sud de l’Ontario à d’autre régions de la province, de même qu’au Québec, au Manitoba et à l’Î.-P.-É. Aujourd’hui, le Canada figure parmi les dix plus importants fournisseurs de produits de soya dans le monde.


Gestion de la résistance des mauvaises herbes : une nouvelle façon de penser


Pour les producteurs de soya, la grande herbe à poux, la petite herbe à poux et la grande vergerette font partie des mauvaises herbes pouvant réellement être source de problèmes pour leurs cultures. En raison de la propagation de la résistance au glyphosate, le contrôle de ces mauvaises herbes est devenu encore plus difficile. Le projet de recherche mené par le Collège Ridgetown a démontré qu’un plan de gestion des cultures est essentiel lorsqu’il s’agit de limiter la résistance et de s’assurer que la protection des produits de la culture demeure efficace.


L’inspection : un élément clé de la gestion de la maladie.


L’inspection des champs est un élément essentiel à l’identification de la maladie, mais trop souvent, lorsqu’on peut la repérer visuellement, il est trop tard pour traiter efficacement les cultures. Un système de détection précoce est en cours d’élaboration par l’Université de Guelph pour aider les producteurs de soya à mieux gérer la maladie. Les traitements pour semences peuvent éloigner les maladies opportunistes transmises par la semence comme la pourriture fusarienne des racines, le pourridié rhizoctonia, la pourriture pythienne, la moisissure blanche et l’infection au phytopthora ou au phomopsis. Les maladies foliaires telles que la brûlure bactérienne, la tache des feuilles, le mildiou, l’oïdium, les virus mosaïques et la rouille du soya peuvent être enrayées par un fongicide foliaire.


S’attaquer aux insectes, à la base


En dépit du fait qu’ils soient devenus un problème au Canada en 2001, les pucerons représentent, pour les producteurs de soya, les insectes les plus dommageables. Les dommages aux cultures de soya causés par les pucerons peuvent finalement se traduire par des gousses plus petites et des germes de moins bonne qualité. Les traitements pour semences offrent une protection en début de saison, mais une application d’insecticide foliaire sera souvent nécessaire en mi-saison, les années où la pression exercée par la population de pucerons est élevée. Les traitements pour semences pour le soya gèrent également les insectes transmis par les semences tels que la mouche des semis, les vers blancs et les pyrales.

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

copyright-bayercropscience-r