Carrots

While there are hundreds of varieties of carrots grown in Canada, there are four main types: Nantes, Imperator, Chantenay and Danvers. With proper cleaning and climate management, carrots can be stored for up to 6-9 months without losing out on quality. Seed improvements have meant a big improvement in yields. At one time a 50% stand was considered a good crop, today that number has climbed to 80% or greater. Because of the seed’s higher value, growers are choosing seed treatments to prevent seedling disease.


Prevention is key to disease management


Sclerotinia is a growing concern for carrot producers as the disease overwinters in the soil for up to five years and is present in fields across Canada. Sclerotinia, which can attack in the field or in storage, results in carrots that are watery and soft. While a foliar fungicide can control the disease, rotating into cereals or forage crops can help remove the disease from the soil. Early blight, or leaf spot, is also problematic in carrots. This disease can be confused with leaf blight, a disease that is prone to attacking the older foliage. Early blight, on the other hand, affects young leaves. It causes significant yield losses and degrades the quality of the tops, making them unsuitable for mechanical harvesting.


Keep broadleaf weeds at bay


Weeds in carrots not only provide competition for yield and crop quality, they are also hosts for insects and disease, making in-season management more difficult. Shallow cultivation along with pre-season perennial weed control help get the crop off to a strong start. Annual broadleaf and grassy weeds can be controlled with a post-emergent herbicide application.


Numerous insects threaten a carrot crop


There are a number of different insects that cause varying damage throughout the growing season, but they can be controlled with insecticide treatments. Leafhoppers are hosts and spread the disease Astor yellows. The insects can remain infected and spread disease for 100 days after infection. Carrot weevils cause localized damage that can have a significant economic impact. Rust flies tunnel into the carrot making them unmarketable. Cutworms attack young seedlings for early season losses.

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Carottes

Bien que des centaines de variétés de carottes soient cultivées au Canada, elles appartiennent toutefois à quatre types principaux : Nantes, Imperator, Chantenay et Danvers. Avec un lavage approprié et une bonne gestion de la température, les carottes peuvent être entreposées pour une période de 6 à 9 mois sans perdre de leur qualité. Les améliorations apportées aux semences ont entraîné une importante amélioration dans les rendements. À une certaine époque, une récolte de 50 pour cent des plants était considérée comme une bonne récolte. Aujourd’hui, ce chiffre est passé à 80 pour cent et plus. Compte tenu de la valeur élevée des semences, les producteurs optent pour des traitements pour semences afin de prévenir les maladies des semis.


La prévention : la clé d’une bonne gestion de la maladie


La pourriture sclérotique est une préoccupation croissante pour les producteurs de carottes, d’autant plus que la maladie est déjà présente dans les champs un peu partout au Canada et qu’elle peut hiverner jusqu’à cinq ans dans le sol. La pourriture sclérotique, qui peut frapper autant dans les champs que dans les aires d’entreposage, entraîne des changements dans la texture des carottes qui deviennent molles et aqueuses. Un fongicide foliaire peut très bien contrôler la maladie. Cependant, faire la rotation avec des cultures fourragères ou céréalières contribue à éliminer la maladie dans le sol. La brûlure alternarienne ou la tache des feuilles peuvent également devenir un problème dans la culture des carottes.


Tenir à distance les mauvaises herbes à feuilles larges


Non seulement les mauvaises herbes font-elles concurrence au rendement et à la qualité de la culture, mais elles sont également les hôtes d’insectes et de maladies, rendant plus difficile la gestion en cours de saison. Un travail du sol en surface de même qu’un contrôle des mauvaises herbes annuelles en avant-saison donnent un excellent départ aux cultures. Les mauvaises herbes annuelles à feuilles larges et les graminées peuvent être maîtrisées par un épandage d’herbicide en post-levée.


De nombreux insectes menacent la culture des carottes


Un certain nombre d’insectes différents peuvent causer des dommages variés pendant toute la saison de croissance, mais peuvent être éliminés par des traitements insecticides. Les cicadelles sont des hôtes potentiels et des vecteurs de la jaunisse de l’aster. Une fois infectés, ces insectes peuvent transmettre la maladie pendant une période de 100 jours après l’infection. Le charançon de la carotte peut causer des dommages localisés ayant un impact économique important. La mouche de la carotte creuse un tunnel dans la carotte, la rendant ainsi invendable. Les vers gris s’attaquent aux plantules, entraînant des pertes en début de saison.

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

copyright-bayercropscience-r