Lettuce

Lettuce is one of the top ten vegetables consumed by Canadians. About 60 percent of lettuce grown in the country is head lettuce, while the remaining 40 percent is leaf lettuce. It is produced either in the field or in greenhouses. Greenhouse lettuce is grown year-round, with most of the production in Quebec and Ontario, close to major markets. Lettuce is consecutively planted throughout its 50-75 day growing season, so growers need to stay on top of pest management for a successful crop throughout the season.


Manage disease inside and out


Botrytis stem rot is the most prevalent disease in lettuce, and can cause grey-green shrivelled leaves. For best control, a fungicide should be applied preventatively. Sclerotinia, or white mould, is primarily an issue for head lettuce. It’s a growing concern as the spores that cause the disease can overwinter in the soil for many years. Downey mildew is more severe in greenhouse lettuce, but it does attack field lettuce as well especially when humid conditions persist.


Start out weed-free


Lettuce can be sensitive to herbicides, so much of the weed control work is done upfront. A pre-seed clean up is often done to make sure the soil is weed free. Plastic coverings are used to control weed growth. Tilling between the rows can also help stop the spread of weeds.


Insect control difficult on large-surface lettuce leaves


Controlling insects on lettuce can prove challenging because there is such a large plant area to protect. Insects are therefore a major threat for lettuce growers. Lettuce aphids can cause stunted, discoloured foliage on the plant. Researchers are looking at how biologic controls can work alongside chemical controls to eliminate aphid concerns. Leafhoppers are dangerous because they carry the aster yellow disease. When aster yellows are high, growers can see anywhere from a 15-50% reduction in yield.

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Laitue

L’un des dix légumes les plus consommés au Canada, la laitue est cultivée dans les champs ou en serres. La laitue pommée compte pour environ 60 pour cent de toutes les laitues cultivées au Canada alors que le 40 pour cent restant est de la laitue en feuilles. La laitue en serre est cultivée toute l’année, principalement au Québec et en Ontario, à proximité des marchés les plus importants. La laitue est semée de façon consécutive tout au long de la saison de croissance, qui va de 50 à 75 jours. Les producteurs doivent donc surveiller de près la gestion des nuisibles pour une récolte réussie, tout au long de la saison.


Gérer la maladie dans les moindres détails


La pourriture de la tige causée par le Botrytis est la maladie la plus répandue dans la culture de la laitue et peut causer la coloration gris-vert des feuilles et leur flétrissement. Pour un meilleur contrôle, un fongicide devrait être appliqué en prévention. La moisissure sclérotinienne ou moisissure blanche constitue tout d’abord un problème pour la laitue pommée mais devient une préoccupation toujours croissante puisque les spores causant la maladie peuvent hiverner dans le sol pendant plusieurs années.


Démarrer sans mauvaises herbes


Comme la laitue peut être sensible aux herbicides, le gros du travail de contrôle des mauvaises herbes doit être fait à l’avance. Pour s’assurer que le sol est exempt de mauvaises herbes, un nettoyage avant les semailles est souvent effectué. Des couvertures de plastique sont utilisées pour restreindre la croissance des mauvaises herbes. Labourer entre les rangs peut également contribuer à stopper la propagation des mauvaises herbes.


Le contrôle des insectes est difficile sur les laitues à larges feuilles


La surface végétale à protéger sur la laitue est tellement grande que la lutte contre les insectes sur la laitue peut s’avérer un véritable défi. Les insectes représentent donc une menace sérieuse pour les producteurs de laitue. Le puceron de la laitue peut causer des retards de croissance et une décoloration des feuilles. Les chercheurs s’appliquent à découvrir comment les produits biologiques et les produits chimiques peuvent travailler en collaboration pour éliminer les problèmes de pucerons. La cicadelle représente un danger puisqu’elle est porteuse de la jaunisse de l’aster, une maladie qui peut réduire le rendement de 15 à 50 pour cent en cas d’infestation.

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

copyright-bayercropscience-r