Tomatoes

Canadian producers grow both field and greenhouse tomatoes. Field tomatoes are used for processing and as table tomatoes, while greenhouse varieties are grown only for fresh consumption. Most tomatoes are grown in Ontario, BC and Quebec with only minor commercial production across the remaining provinces. While variations in weather are a critical factor in determining yield and fruit quality, disease and pests can be just as important in achieving an abundance of ripe, red fruit.


Prevention is key to disease management


The warm, moist conditions that help tomatoes grow also allow disease to thrive. Tomatoes share many of the same disease issues as potatoes, such as early and late blight. Other diseases, like anthracnose are easily spread through splashing water. Planting clean, certified seed with a good disease resistance package can help keep disease at bay. Frequent scouting, removal of infected material, elimination of host weeds and proper nitrogen application can all help reduce risk. Fungicides need to be applied preventatively to be effective in eliminating these diseases.


Eliminate both grassy and broadleaf weeds


Prior to emergence, broadleaf weeds can delay the plant from establishing and also provide competition for growth. Most tomato growers are able to address broadleaf weeds such as redroot pigweed and lamb’s quarters with a pre-emergent herbicide, along with inter-row cultivation. Perennial weeds such as quackgrass and other annual grassy weeds can be managed in the early stages of growth with a post-emergent herbicide application. Tomato producers should be aware of pre-harvest intervals when choosing a crop protection product.


Watch for insects throughout the season


Aphids can be present in tomato crops throughout the season, but they can rapidly multiply when the weather turns hot and dry. Growers should monitor their fields for aphids over several weeks to see if populations are increasing. Aphids can also be a vector for viral disease. Cutworms are a concern early in the season as they will feed on the plant stems, cutting them off at the soil and leaving the plant to wilt and die. An insecticide can be effective, but only when the cutworms are young and small.

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Tomates

Les producteurs agricoles canadiens cultivent autant les tomates de plein champ que les tomates de serre. Les tomates de plein champ sont utilisées pour la transformation ou comme tomates de table alors que les variétés de serre sont uniquement destinées au marché frais. La plupart des tomates sont cultivées en Ontario, en C.-B. et au Québec, avec quelques exceptions de cultures commerciales mineures dans les autres provinces. Bien que les variations de température représentent un facteur déterminant pour la qualité et le rendement des fruits, la maladie et les nuisibles sont tout aussi importants pour obtenir une abondance de fruits rouges et bien mûrs.


La prévention : un élément clé dans gestion de la maladie


Le temps chaud et humide, excellent pour la croissance des tomates, est également propice à la prolifération de maladies. Lorsqu’il s’agit de maladies, la culture des tomates partage bon nombre des mêmes problèmes que celle des pommes de terre, comme la brûlure alternarienne et le mildiou. D’autres maladies, comme l'anthracnose, peuvent facilement se transmettre par les éclaboussures d’eau. Utiliser des semences non contaminées, certifiées et dotées d’une bonne résistance aux maladies peut tenir à distance la maladie. L’inspection fréquente, le retrait de toute matière infectée, l’élimination des mauvaises herbes hôtes et l’application appropriée d’azote contribuent à réduire les risques. Pour éliminer efficacement ces maladies, des fongicides doivent être appliqués en prévention.


Supprimer toutes les mauvaises herbes, graminées ou à feuilles larges


Avant la levée, les mauvaises herbes à feuilles larges peuvent retarder l’établissement de la plante et nuire à sa croissance. La majorité des producteurs de tomates réussissent à éliminer les mauvaises herbes à feuilles larges, comme l’amarante à racine rouge et le chénopode blanc, en utilisant un herbicide en prélevée jumelé à un sarclage entre les rangs. Les mauvaises herbes annuelles, comme le chiendent et autres graminées annuelles, peuvent être contrôlées dans les premiers stades de croissance à l’aide d’un traitement herbicide en postlevée. Toutefois, avant d’arrêter leur choix sur un produit de protection pour leurs cultures, les producteurs de tomates seraient bien avisés de vérifier les intervalles pré-récolte des produits.


Surveiller les insectes tout au long de la saison


Les pucerons, vecteurs de maladies virales, peuvent être présents dans les cultures de tomates tout au long de la saison. Et par temps chaud et sec, ils peuvent se multiplier rapidement. Les producteurs devraient exercer une surveillance étroite de leurs champs pendant plusieurs semaines afin de déceler toute hausse de population de pucerons. Les vers gris deviennent une préoccupation très tôt dans la saison puisqu’ils se nourrissent des tiges des plants, les fauchant au ras du sol et entraînant le flétrissement et la mort de la plante. Un insecticide peut s’avérer efficace uniquement lorsque les vers gris sont jeunes et petits.

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

BayerValue Calculator

Calculate your BayerValue rebate now using the latest calculator.  >> Calculate now

Save on Raxil

Save up to $2/ac. on Raxil products through BayerValue.  >> Save now

copyright-bayercropscience-r