Stem rust


Names

Stem Rustzoom...

Scientific Name

Puccinia graminis

Biology

Description

Depending on weather conditions and disease development in central US cereal crops, stem rust usually arrives in Manitoba and Saskatchewan in mid to late June on southerly winds. The disease generally appears on plants in early summer. Pustules form in 7 to 10 days after infection and break open, releasing masses of brown spores that can infect surrounding plants. Stem rust thrives in temperatures of 20-25ºC (68-77ºF).

Rust spots are very small, circular or elongated, and vivid orange-red in colour. Later in the year, the rust pustules darken because of the production of darkbrown-black spores, which are the overwintering stage of the rust. Infected plants produce fewer tillers, set fewer seeds per head and yield small shrivelled seeds with poor milling quality and food value.


Scouting

Look for reddish-brown, elongated spore pustules on the stems, leaves, glumes, awns and kernels. The red spore dust may stick to your hands, clothing, and machinery. Later in the season, the pustules produce black overwintering spores.


Control

Choose resistant cultivars where available. Plant early to avoid infection. Apply a foliar fungicide.

Occurence

Crops

  • Wheat
  • Wheat Spring Durum

Control

Chemical Control

Products that control

  • Stratego
  • Prosaro
  • Folicur EW

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Rouille de la tige


noms

zoom...

scientific-name

Puccinia graminis

biologie

description

Selon les conditions météorologiques et le développement de la maladie dans les cultures céréalières du centre des É.-U., la rouille de la tige arrive au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan entre le milieu et la fin de juin, portée par des vents du sud. La maladie apparaît généralement sur les plants au début de l’été. Des pustules se forment 7 à 10 jours après l’infection et crèvent, libérant des masses de spores brunes qui infectent les plants voisins. La rouille de la tige prolifère à des températures de 20 à 25ºC (68 à 77ºF).

Les taches de rouille sont très petites, rondes et allongées et sont d’un rouge orangé vif. Plus tard dans l’année, les pustules de rouille foncent en raison de la production de spores brun foncé ou noires; c’est le stade d’hivernation de la rouille. Les plants infectés produisent moins de talles, moins de grains par épi et de petites semences rabougries d’une qualité meunière et d’une valeur nutritive médiocres.

Dépistage


Recherchez de longues pustules de spores brun rougeâtre sur les tiges, les feuilles, les glumes, les barbes et les grains. La poussière de spores rouge peut coller aux mains, aux vêtements et à l’équipement. Plus tard dans la saison, les pustules produisent des spores noires hivernantes.

Lutte


Choisissez des cultivars résistants. Semez tôt pour éviter l’infection. Appliquez un fonficide foliaire.

occurence

crops

  • Wheat

control

lutte chimique

Produits que le contrôle

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

copyright-bayercropscience-r