Root Rot/Pythium


Names

Scientific Name

pythium

Biology

Description

(Pythium)

Browning root rot or Pythium root rot is predominantly a seedling disease, causing reduced stands, delayed maturity and yield reductions. Pythium is most frequent where soil oxygen levels are low due to high rainfall. In western Canada, disease develops in wet soils low in phosphorus and organic matter. Spores of Pythium survive for many years in soil and crop residue. Worst outbreaks with heaviest damage occur when a dry spell is followed by abundant rain.


Scouting

Damping off occurs frequently when germination takes place under wet conditions. Seedlings that emerge usually recover but may experience impaired root development and delayed maturity. Look for disease symptoms in patches throughout fields, especially waterlogged areas. Infected plants become chlorotic and lower leaves turn yellow, then brown. Underground, look for dead root tips on small plants and brown lesions on roots of larger plants, particularly at tips of young roots.

Barley is more sensitive than wheat.


Control

Ensure good drainage and modify soil profile to improve aeration. High quality treated seed improves germination and vigour, helping to outgrow infections. Raxil T and Vitaflo 280 protect against Pythium root rot.

Occurence

Crops

  • Canola
  • Wheat
  • Soybeans

Control

Chemical Control

Products that control

  • Gaucho CS FL
  • Prosper
  • Trilex EverGol

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Pourriture des racines (pythium)


noms

scientific-name

pythium

biologie

description

Le piétin brun (Pythium) est surtout une maladie des semis qui réduit la densité des cultures et les rendements et retarde la maturité. La maladie est très fréquente là où les niveaux d’oxygène dans le sol sont faibles en raison d’averses abondantes. Dans l’ouest du Canada, la maladie se développe dans les sols humides faibles en phosphore et en matière organique. Les spores de Pythium survivent pendant de nombreuses années dans le sol et dans les résidus de culture. Les pires infestations provoquant les dommages les plus importants se produisent lorsqu’une période de sécheresse est suivie de pluies abondantes.

Dépistage


La fonte des semis arrive souvent lorsque la germination se déroule dans des conditions humides. Les semis qui lèvent s’en remettent habituellement mais peuvent connaître un développement inégal des racines et une maturité tardive. Recherchez les symptômes de la maladie dans différentes parcelles des champs, en particulier dans les zones saturées d’eau. Les plants infectés se chlorosent et les feuilles inférieures jaunissent, puis brunissent. Dans le sol, prêtez attention aux extrémités radiculaires mortes sur les petits plants et aux lésions brunes sur les racines des plants plus grands, en particulier aux extrémités des jeunes racines.

L’orge est plus sensible que le blé.

 

Lutte


Assurez un bon drainage et modifiez le profil du sol afin d’améliorer l’aération. Des semences traitées de grande qualité améliorent la germination et la vigueur des plants et contribuent à contrer les infections. Raxil T et Vitaflo 280 protègent du piétin brun.

occurence

crops

  • Canola

control

lutte chimique

Produits que le contrôle

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

copyright-bayercropscience-r