Cat-facing insect


Names

zoom...

Scientific Name

 Euschistus servus

Biology

Description

Similar to both the Lygus Bug and Stink Bug.

Adults are about 0.25 inch (6 mm) long and 0.1 inch (2.5 mm) wide, and flattened on the back. They vary in colour from pale green to yellowish brown with reddish brown to black markings, and have a conspicuous triangle in the center of the back. Nymphs resemble adults, but are uniformly pale green with red-tipped antennae; larger nymphs have five black spots on the upper body surface. Nymphs do not have wings.

Lygus bugs pierce squares and damage anthers and other tissues. When squares are less than 0.2 inch long, they shrivel, turn brown, and drop from the plant. Damage to larger squares may be to anthers, styles, and stigma, and may interfere with fertilization. If many squares drop, the plant may put its energy resources into vegetative growth, resulting in tall, spindly plants and reduced yields.

Lygus bugs also feed on and destroy terminal meristems, causing bushy plants. If these bugs pierce the wall of young bolls (typically less than 10 days old) and feed on young seeds, these seeds may fail to develop. Lint around the injured seeds is stained yellow, and may not mature normally.

Stink bugs are medium to large-sized bugs. Those that attack small grains are commonly grey brown to green in color and 0.38 in. to 0.5 in. long. Their bodies have a characteristic shield shape with a large triangle on the center back.

They are most common where cereals are planted adjacent to rangeland near the foothills or desert. Damage usually occurs when stink bugs feed in the head during milk or soft dough stage.

Occurence

Crops

  • Peaches

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Insecte « face de chat »


noms

zoom...

scientific-name

 Euschistus servus

biologie

description

Semblable à la punaise Lygus et au pentatome

L’adulte a une longueur d’environ 6 mm (0,25 po) et une largeur de 2,5 mm (0,1 po) et a le dos aplati. Sa couleur varie de vert pâle à brun jaunâtre et l’insecte arbore des marques brun rougeâtre à noires ainsi qu’un triangle bien visible au milieu du dos. La nymphe ressemble à l’adulte mais est uniformément vert pâle avec des antennes aux pointes rouges; la nymphe plus grande a cinq taches noires sur le dessus du corps et n’a pas d’ailes.

La punaise Lygus perce des carrés et abîme les anthères et les autres tissus. Lorsque les carrés ont moins de 0,5 cm (0,2 po) de long, ils rabougrissent, brunissent et tombent de la plante. Les dommages aux carrés plus grands peuvent affecter les anthères, les styles et les stigmates et peuvent nuire à la fertilisation. Si plusieurs carrés tombent, la plante consacrera ses ressources énergétiques à la croissance végétative, donnant ainsi lieu à des plantes grandes et rachitiques et à des rendements réduits.

La punaise Lygus mange également et détruit les méristèmes des branches terminales, provoquant le rabougrissement des plantes. Si cette punaise perce la paroi des jeunes capsules (habituellement moins de 10 jours) et se nourrit des jeunes graines, celles-ci ne se développeront pas. Les fibres de coton autour des graines attaquées sont jaunâtres et n’atteindront pas une maturité normale.

Les pentatomes sont des insectes de taille moyenne à grande. Ceux qui s’attaquent aux petites céréales sont souvent brun gris à vert et mesurent de 95 à 125 mm (0,38 à 0,5 po) de long. Leur corps a la forme caractéristique d’un bouclier surmonté d’un grand triangle au milieu du dos.

On les retrouve le plus souvent là où des céréales sont plantées le long de parcours à proximité de contreforts ou du désert. Les dommages surviennent habituellement lorsque les pentatomes se nourrissent dans l’épi durant le stade laiteux ou pâteux.

occurence

crops

  • Peaches

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

copyright-bayercropscience-r