Perennial sow thistle


Names

Perennial Sow Thistlezoom...
Perennial Sow Thistlezoom...

Scientific Name

Sonchus arvensis L.

Biology

Description

Perennial sow thistle is common in cultivated areas, ditches, pastures, and undeveloped areas.

This weed is a tall, creeping perennial that reproduces by seed and horizontal, underground roots. The roots penetrate to a depth of 1.5 m to 3 m (5 ft. to 10 ft.). The stems are erect, hollow, 0.5 m to 1.2 m (2 ft. to 4 ft.) high, smooth, stout, and branch at the top. They produce a milky sap.

The leaves are alternate, have slightly-toothed margins, and are 15 cm to 30 cm (6 in. to 12 in.) long. The lower leaves have deeply-cut, backwards-pointed, side lobes. The upper leaves are slightly-toothed and smaller.

The flowers are bright yellow, dandelion-like, and 1.3 cm to 5 cm (1 in. to 2 in.) across. The seeds are brown, ridged, and wrinkled with a tuft of fine white hairs. Carried by the wind, the seed can establish itself in cultivated fields, roadsides, on the margins of sloughs, and along shelterbelts. It prefers moist, fertile soils.

Occurence

Crops

  • Barley
  • Canola
  • Corn
  • Oats
  • Wheat

Control

Chemical Control

Products that control

  • Liberty 150
  • Liberty 200

Products that suppress

  • Buctril M
  • Infinity
  • Velocity m3
  • Tundra

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Laiteron des champs


noms

zoom...
zoom...

scientific-name

Sonchus arvensis L.

biologie

description

Le laiteron des champs est populaire dans les zones cultivées, les fosses, les pâturages et les zones inexploitées.  

Cette mauvaise herbe est une vivace longue et rampante qui se reproduit par sa semence et par ses racines horizontales souterraines.  Les racines pénètrent le sol à une profondeur de 1.5  à 3 m (5 à 10 pi.). Les tiges sont dressées, vides, mesurent 0.5 à 1.2 m (2 à 4 pi..) de hauteur, sont lisses et fortes et se ramifient vers le haut.  Elle produit une sève laiteuse. 

Ses feuilles sont alternes, le bord en est légèrement denté et elles mesurent 15 cm à 30 cm (6 à 12 po.) de long. Les feuilles du bas sont profondément découpées et en lobes, le sommet effilé vers l’arrière. 

Les fleurs sont d’un jaune clair, comme le pissenlit et mesurent 1.3 à 5 cm (1 à 2 po.) de diamètre.  Les graines sont brunes, triées et rudes avec une aigrette de fins poils blancs. Transportée par le vent, la semence d’établit dans les champs cultivés, le long des routes, dans les fondrières et le long des brise-vent.  Cette plante préfère les sols humides et fertiles.

occurence

crops

  • Barley
  • Canola
  • Corn
  • Oats
  • Wheat

control

lutte chimique

Produits que le contrôle

Produits qui suppriment

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

copyright-bayercropscience-r