Poncho

Overview

Poncho®. Great Hybrids. Great Protection.


Spread the news! Poncho is the number one seed-applied insecticide for corn. Only Poncho provides consistent protection for corn seed and seedlings from all the major early season corn pests, right from the start. It’s a blanket of protection that increases your yields, gives you healthier crops and provides you with a better return on investment.

Poncho 1250

Poncho 1250 — Corn Rootworm and High Insect Pressure


bug

Poncho 1250 is the only seed treatment for corn that protects against corn rootworm and all seven early season corn insect pests. With protection that lasts beyond the five-leaf stage, you can count on Poncho 1250 to protect your return on investment.

Get to know Poncho 1250

Poncho 250

Poncho 250


Better Emergence, Vigour and Stands

field

Poncho 250 provides systemic protection of both the seed and developing seedling to give you uniform and vigorous crop stands. By working in the plant’s root system and on the above ground growth, Poncho 250 leads to a higher return on investment even with early planting, cold weather and wet stresses.

Get to know Poncho 250

Corn Root Worm

The Return of Corn Rootworm


Corn rootworm used to be a prominent pest before the benefits of crop rotation were understood and put into practice. Breaking the rootworm life cycle by avoiding corn on corn was an effective control measure that combatted the insect eggs’ ability to overwinter in corn and re-infest the next crop. While crop rotation is still effective, there’s now Poncho® 1250 seed treatment. If you select a hybrid with built in rootworm protection, then make sure you use Poncho 1250 seed treatment on your refuge acres to offer a helping hand.

As the economics of growing corn improve, growing consecutive corn crops in the same field is a very tempting prospect. To be effective, corn rootworm protection has to begin before the seed hits the ground – whether through crop rotation, seed treatment or corn hybrids with built in rootworm protection.

 

Poncho 1250. More than Corn Rootworm Protection.


Poncho 1250 is the only seed treatment with protection against corn rootworm, in addition to all major early season corn insect pests. Poncho 1250 also provides a smart resistance management choice by protecting all refuge acres from corn rootworm. If you select a hybrid with built in rootworm protection, then make sure you use Poncho 1250 seed treatment on your refuge acres to help maintain the effectiveness of corn rootworm control throughout your field.

In addition to corn rootworm control, Poncho 1250 is also recommended for later season control of all major insect pests – beyond the five-leaf stage of corn – and areas with higher overall insect pressure.

 

Corn Rootworm 101


"Scout for corn rootworm every year." That's the bottom line from field crops entomologist Tracey Baute, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs. "Corn rootworm is the number two pest in terms of its ability to develop resistance, second to the potato beetle."

"If you grow continuous corn on a regular basis, scout in August to check for the presence of adult rootworm," says Baute. "Adults give you a good indication if enough eggs will be laid to need protection in the next crop year." The prominence of the pest depends on the year. So for 2008, overall corn rootworm levels were lower as the frequent rains didn't help larvae survival in the soil.

When you expect a heavier infestation, Baute acknowledges that seed treatment (like Poncho 1250) is a good tool – and one that must be used wisely. "Corn rootworm has adapted to crop rotation and has the ability to adapt to control products," she says. "Growers need to help keep products in the marketplace with responsible use, rotating with different chemistry when you can as well as rotating crops."

Multiple crop rotations – more than just corn/soy – are in fact what's keeping a rootworm variant out of Ontario fields. The variant lays eggs in soybeans and other crops, and the eggs hatch the following year and can survive if a corn crop is planted in the same field that year. "We're fortunate that we don't have to change our management strategy because our diverse crop landscape is making it very hard for us to find the variant in Ontario."

FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions


Below is a list of some of the most common questions we get about Poncho® 250, Poncho 1250 and corn crops in general.

How do I know if a corn hybrid comes with Poncho seed treatment?

Poncho is commercially applied by seed companies, so talk to your seed dealer to find out if the hybrids you’re choosing come with Poncho. Or click here for a directory of seed companies that sell Poncho-treated seed.


What’s the difference between Poncho 250 and Poncho 1250?

Poncho 250 controls all major early season corn pests, up to the five-leaf stage of corn. Poncho 1250 controls corn rootworm, plus all major early season corn pests, beyond the five-leaf stage of corn.


Insect Poncho 250 Poncho 1250
Black cutworm accept checkmark
accept checkmark
Corn flea beetle accept checkmark accept checkmark
Corn rootworm accept checkmark
European chafer (white grub) accept checkmark accept checkmark
Japanese beetle (white grub) accept checkmark accept checkmark
June beetle (white grub) accept checkmark accept checkmark
Seedcorn maggot accept checkmark accept checkmark
Wireworm accept checkmark accept checkmark

Is corn rootworm a big problem?

Corn rootworm used to be a significant insect pest when growing continuous corn was a common practice. Rootworm eggs are able to overwinter in fields and re-infest when corn is returned to the same field. Crop rotation is an effective control measure – and sound agronomic practice – to reduce corn rootworm.

However, as the economics of growing corn continue to improve, the temptation to grow consecutive corn crops in the same field also rises – increasing the threat of corn rootworm infestation.


Will an insect seed treatment improve my corn yields?

Yes. By protecting the seed and developing seedling from insect damage, corn stands are more uniform and vigorous, right out of the ground. Our research trials indicate that Poncho 250 yields an average of 5 bu./ac.* more than seed not treated with an insecticide, and Poncho 1250 returns an average of 21 bu./ac.** more than seed not treated with an insecticide.

*Based on 616 side-by-side field trials comparing the performance of Poncho 250 treated seed to seed not treated with an insecticide (2003-2006).
**Based on 10 side-by-side field trials comparing the performance of Poncho 1250 treated seed to seed not treated with an insecticide (2002-2003).


Do I need Poncho 1250 if I’m using a hybrid with built in corn rootworm protection?

Yes. All corn rootworm hybrids require refuge acres as part of a resistance management strategy. Poncho 1250 is an effective way to provide control on refuge acres while adhering to refuge acre recommendations. Talk to your seed dealer about what percentage of your field must be planted as a refuge. Also, if planting in soils with high insect pressure, Poncho 1250 will protect your corn seed.


Are there any special considerations when I’m planting Poncho 1250 seed?

Yes. To help lubricate the seed to ensure uniform drop, use talc or graphite to planter manufacturer recommendations when planting corn treated with Poncho 1250.

Seed Companies

Corn Seed Dealer Directory


Some of the world’s finest seed companies sell corn seeds treated with Poncho® 250 and Poncho 1250. Use the directory below to find out more about each company’s corn seed products.

Country Farm Seeds
www.countryfarmseeds.com

De Dell Seeds
www.dedellseeds.com

DEKALB
www.dekalb.ca

Horizon Seeds Canada
www.horizonseeds.ca

Hyland Seeds
www.hylandseeds.com

General Seed Company
www.geseco.ca/

Pickseed
www.pickseed.com

Pioneer
www.pioneer.com

Pride Seeds
www.prideseed.com

Maizex Seeds
www.maizex.com

Mycogen Seeds
www.mycogen.com

Syngenta Seeds
www.syngenta.ca

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

Now available exclusively online.

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Poncho

Aperçu

Poncho®. Des hybrids fantastiques. Une protection fantastique.


Répandez la nouvelle! Poncho est l’insecticide numéro un appliqué sur la semence de maïs. Seul Poncho procure aux plantules et aux semences de maïs une protection consistante contre les principaux insectes ravageurs de début de saison. Poncho vous offre une couverture protectrice qui permet l’accroissement de vos récoltes, des cultures en meilleure santé et un meilleur retour sur investissement.

Poncho 1250

Poncho 1250 — La chrysomèle des racines du maïs et les régions très infestées


bug

Poncho 1250 est le seul traitement pour semence de maïs qui protège contre la chrysomèle des racines du maïs et contre les sept principaux insectes ravageurs du maïs en début de saison. Comme sa protection s’étend jusqu’à l’étape de la cinquième feuille, Poncho 1250 protège également votre retour sur investissement.

À propos de Poncho 1250

Poncho 250

Poncho 250


Meilleure levée, vigueur et une culture plus forte

field

En offrant une protection systémique aux plantules et aux semences, Poncho 250 permet d’obtenir des champs de maïs uniformes et vigoureux. Parce qu’il agit sur la racine des plants de même qu’à la surface du sol, Poncho 250 procure un meilleur retour sur investissement, même lors de semis hâtif, de température froide ou trop humide.

À propos de Poncho 250

Chrysomèle du maïs

Le retour de la chrysomèle des racines du maïs


La chrysomèle des racines du maïs était un parasite majeur avant que ne soient compris et mis en pratique les bienfaits de la rotation des cultures. Briser son cycle de vie en évitant de semer maïs sur maïs fut une mesure de contrôle efficace, s’attaquant à la capacité des oeufs à hiverner pour ensuite contaminer la récolte suivante. Bien que la rotation soit toujours efficace, vous pouvez aussi maintenant compter sur le traitement pour semence PonchoMD 1250. Si vous choisissez un hybride résistant à la chrysomèle, soyez sûr d’utiliser Poncho 1250 sur vos acres refuges. Comme la culture du maïs s’avère de plus en plus rentable, la production consécutive de plusieurs récoltes de maïs dans un même champ peut sembler une perspective bien alléchante.

Pour être efficace, la protection contre la chrysomèle doit commencer avant même que la semence touche le sol, qu’il s’agisse de rotation des cultures, de traitement de la semence ou d’hybrides de maïs résistant à la chrysomèle.

 

Poncho 1250. Plus qu’une protection contre la chrysomèle.


Poncho 1250 est le seul traitement pour semence offrant une protection contre la chrysomèle des racines de maïs, en plus de tous les principaux insectes ravageurs de début de saison. Poncho 1250 permet également de gérer la résistance intelligemment.

En plus de contrôler la chrysomèle des racines, Poncho 1250 est également recommandé pour contrôler les principaux insectes ravageurs plus tard en saison – au-delà de l’étape de la cinquième feuille du maïs – et dans tous les secteurs soumis à plus forte pression des insectes.

 

Chrysomèle des racines du maïs 101


« Dépistez pour la chrysomèle des racines du maïs chaque année. » C’est l’essentiel selon l’entomologiste de grandes cultures du Ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l’Ontario, Tracey Baute. « La chrysomèle des racines du maïs est le deuxième insecte nuisible, après le doryphore de la pomme de terre, en terme d’importance pour sa capacité à développer une résistance. »

« Si vous semez du maïs sur maïs de façon constante, dépistez vos champs en août pour détecter la présence de chrysomèles adultes, » explique Tracey Baute. « La population d’adultes donne un bon aperçu si une quantité suffisante d’oeufs a été pondue pour justifier une protection l’année suivante. » Par la suite, l’importance de l’insecte nuisible dépend de l’année. En 2008, les populations de chrysomèles des racines du maïs étaient moins élevées, car les nombreuses pluies ont nui à la survie des larves dans le sol.

Lorsque vous prévoyez une infestation plus sévère, Tracey Baute confirme qu’un traitement de semence (comme Poncho 1250) est un bon outil – et qu’il doit être utilisé de manière sensée. « La chrysomèle des racines du maïs s’est adaptée aux rotations des cultures et possède la capacité à s’adapter aux produits de contrôle,» explique-t-elle. « Les producteurs doivent contribuer à garder les produits sur le marché en les utilisant de façon responsable, en alternant entre différentes chimies lorsque possible tout en alternant entre les cultures. »

Des rotations avec plusieurs cultures – plus que seulement du maïs/soya – la solution pour garder les champs de l’Ontario à l’abri de la variante de la chrysomèle. La variante pond ses œufs dans le soya et dans les autres cultures, l’éclosion a lieu l’année suivante et les œufs survivent si une culture de maïs est semée dans le même champ cette année-là. « Nous sommes chanceux de ne pas avoir à modifier notre stratégie de gestion, car la grande diversité de nos cultures rend la vie difficile aux variantes en Ontario. »

FAQs

Les questions les plus fréquentes


Ci-dessous, la liste des questions les plus fréquemment posées à propos de PonchoMD 250, Poncho 1250 et des récoltes de maïs en général.

Comment puis-je savoir si un hybride de maïs a été traité avec Poncho?

Poncho est appliqué commercialement par les compagnies de semence. Demandez à votre détaillant si les hybrides que vous avez choisis ont été traités avec Poncho, ou cliquez ici pour consulter le répertoire des compagnies qui vendent de la semence traitée avec Poncho.


Quelle différence y a-t-il entre Poncho 250 et Poncho 1250?

Poncho 250 contrôle tous les principaux insectes ravageurs de début de saison jusqu’à l’étape de la cinquième feuille du maïs. Poncho 1250 contrôle la chrysomèle ainsi que tous les principaux insectes ravageurs de début de saison, et ce, au-delà de l’étape de la cinquième feuille.


Insectes Poncho 250 Poncho 1250
Altise du maïs accept checkmark
accept checkmark
Chrysomèle des racines du maïs accept checkmark accept checkmark
Hanneton commun (ver blanc) accept checkmark
Hanneton européen (ver blanc) accept checkmark accept checkmark
Hanneton japonais (ver blanc) accept checkmark accept checkmark
Mouche des semis accept checkmark accept checkmark
Ver fil-de-fer accept checkmark accept checkmark
Ver-gris noir accept checkmark accept checkmark

La chrysomèle des racines du maïs représente-t-elle un grave problème?

La chrysomèle des racines du maïs a déjà représenté une menace importante alors qu’on pratiquait la culture du maïs en continue dans les mêmes champs. Les œufs de la chrysomèle sont capables d’hiverner pour ensuite infecter la récolte suivante de maïs si ce dernier est semé dans le même champ. La rotation des cultures est une mesure de contrôle efficace – et une pratique agronomique avisée – pour réduire l’activité de la chrysomèle.

Cependant, comme la culture du maïs est de plus en plus rentable, la tentation est maintenant plus forte de produire des récoltes de maïs consécutives dans les mêmes champs, ce qui accroît d’autant la menace de prolifération de la chrysomèle.


Un traitement de la semence contre les insectes améliorera-t-il le rendement du maïs?

Oui. Parce que la plantule et la semence sont protégées des dommages causés par les insectes, les peuplements de maïs sont plus uniformes et vigoureux dès leur émergence du sol. Nos recherches démontrent que les rendements obtenus avec Poncho 250 sont en moyenne de 5 boisseaux/ac.* supérieurs aux rendements obtenus avec la semence non traitée avec un insecticide, alors que les rendements de Poncho 1250 sont en moyenne supérieurs de 21 boisseaux/ac.**

Ai-je besoin de Poncho 1250 si j’utilise un hybride de maïs résistant à la chrysomèle?

Oui. Tous les hybrides de maïs résistant à la chrysomèle requièrent des acres refuges faisant partie intégrante de la stratégie de gestion de la résistance. Poncho 1250 offre un contrôle efficace sur les acres refuges, selon les recommandations des fabricants de semence. Informez-vous auprès de votre détaillant pour connaître le pourcentage de votre champ d’hybrides résistant à la chrysomèle devant être utilisé comme refuge. Utilisez Poncho 1250 dans les régions très infestées.


Ya-t-il des facteurs à considérer lorsque j’utilise la semence Poncho 1250?

Oui. Il est recommandé d’utiliser un lubrifiant à semence afin d’assurer un écoulement uniforme. Utilisez le talc ou le graphite, selon les recommandations du fabricant de semoir, lorsque vous semer du maïs traité avec Poncho 1250.

Compagnies de semence de maïs

Compagnies de semence de maïs


Plusieurs des meilleures compagnies de semence au monde vendent des semences de maïs traitées avec PonchoMD 250 et Poncho 1250.

Country Farm Seeds
www.countryfarmseeds.com

De Dell Seeds
www.dedellseeds.com

DEKALB
www.dekalb.ca

Horizon Seeds Canada
www.horizonseeds.ca

Hyland Seeds
www.hylandseeds.com

General Seed Company
http://geseco.ca/

Pickseed
www.pickseed.com

Pioneer
www.pioneer.com

Pride Seeds
www.prideseed.com

LCF (Coopérative Fédérée du Québec)
www.coopfed.qc.ca

Maizex Seeds
www.maizex.com

Mycogen Seeds
www.dowagro.com

NK Seeds
www.nkcanada.com

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

Maintenant offert exclusivement en ligne.

copyright-bayercropscience-r