Select your preferred language.

Choisissez votre langue préférée

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Opportunity Scholarships awarded to students pursuing education in agriculture and food-related fields

Monsanto Fund, a philanthropic arm of Bayer, shares over $100,000 with deserving students from rural and urban locations across Canada

Winnipeg, Oct 2, 2018 – The future of agriculture is bright if the quality, dedication and enthusiasm of this year’s Opportunity Scholarship winners is any indication. This group of students is starting their first year of post-secondary education and all look forward to having an impact on Canadian agriculture and food in the future.

Whether it’s pursuing a career as a farmer, agronomist, plant breeder, animal nutritionist, registered dietician or culinary professional, each of the 67 scholarship winners expressed a passion for the family farm and had a clear personal vision for how they would contribute to growing the future of Canadian agriculture.

As in previous years, each student is enrolled in a Canadian university or college this fall and will receive a $1,500 scholarship to help cover the costs associated with their education.

“As a company focused on advancing health and nutrition and working to shape agriculture through innovation, we are thrilled to see this impressive group of young people committed to education in agricultural and food sciences,” said Trish Jordan, public & industry affairs director with Bayer’s Crop Science Division in Canada. “I have no doubt these young people will continue to be successful and make meaningful contributions to our sector in the future for the benefit of farmers, consumers and our planet.”

Thousands of deserving students have received almost $2 million since the Canadian scholarship program was launched using corporate funds in 1991. Transition to the Monsanto Fund in 2012 has enabled more students to win scholarships due to consistent funding for the Opportunity Scholarship Program.

All applications were reviewed by an independent judging panel that included: Robert Adamson, consultant and program director with Pembina Trails School Division; Danielle Maynard, strategic account manager, Bayer Canada – Crop Science Division; John Morriss, production editor for Country Guide West; Ellen Pruden, education and promotion manager for the Manitoba Canola Growers Association; Johanne Ross, executive director of Agriculture in the Classroom-Canada; and Kalynn Spain, recruitment, job placement and cooperative education coordinator with the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences at the University of Manitoba.

Administered by Agriculture in the Classroom-Manitoba Inc. (AITC-M) for the Monsanto Fund, a philanthropic arm of Bayer, the scholarship program received 140 applications from across Canada this year.

“It has been a tremendous experience for us to be involved with the Opportunity Scholarship Program,” said Sue Clayton, executive director of AITC-M. “When you read an awesome essay or a glowing reference letter it reminds you what incredible young people there are coming into our industry. The future certainly looks bright for these students and Canadian agriculture.”

About Bayer
Bayer is a global enterprise with core competencies in the Life Science fields of health care and agriculture. Its products and services are designed to benefit people and improve their quality of life. At the same time, the Group aims to create value through innovation, growth and high earning power. Bayer is committed to the principles of sustainable development and to its social and ethical responsibilities as a corporate citizen. In fiscal 2017, the Group employed around 99,800 people and had sales of EUR 35.0 billion. Capital expenditures amounted to EUR 2.4 billion, R&D expenses to EUR 4.5 billion. For more information, go to

NOTE: The complete list of 2018 Opportunity Scholarship winners, by province, is included below.


Trish Jordan, Public & Industry Affairs Director

Forward-Looking Statements
This news release may contain forward-looking statements based on current assumptions and forecasts made by Bayer management. Various known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors could lead to material differences between the actual future results, financial situation, development or performance of the company and the estimates given here. These factors include those discussed in Bayer’s public reports which are available on the Bayer website at The company assumes no liability whatsoever to update these forward-looking statements or to conform them to future events or developments.

2018 Opportunity Scholarship Winners

Cassandra Berreth-Picton Granum, AB Laura Carruthers Frenchman Butte, SK
Keyonna Derr Stettler, AB Rachel Christensen Wynyard, SK
Jonathan Ericson Lacombe, AB Blake Christmann Central Butte, SK
Boyd Gerow Fort Saskatchewan, AB Daphnée Ferland Maryfield, SK
Alyanna Gotardo Leduc, AB Emma Hinz Humboldt, SK
Paxton Homeak Glenevis, AB Josie Huber Wilkie, SK
Catelynn Lewis Whitecourt, AB Anya Illingworth North Battleford, SK
Kathleen McHugh High River, AB Landon Jarman Climax, SK
Maxwell Moffat Rivercourse, AB Meagan Kielo Delisle, SK
Brody Nestorvich Red Deer County, AB Kendyl Mandziak Kelliner, SK
Sarah Tkach Veteran, AB Tanesha Novak Kuroki, SK
Kevin Witdouck Iron Springs, AB Rachel Sutherland Borden, SK
    Kennedy Ward Mortlach, SK
    Sarah Wassill Arborfield, SK
    Emily Zaleschuk Alvena, SK
Victoria Adriaansen Wellwood, MB Wyatt Armes Williams Lake, BC
Cali Bauereiss Dropmore, MB Sarah Kedves Victoria, BC
Corinne Bernard Haywood, MB Joanna Penner Vanderhoof, BC
Caitlyn Carkener Brandon, MB Bonny Yu Surrey, BC
Matthew Fossay Woodlands, MB    
Courtney Funk Mitchell, MB    
Kara Glor Lorette, MB    
Theresa Guimond Woodmore, MB    
Hayley Jenkins Thompson, MB    
Curtis Johnston Teulon, MB    
John Kirkup Melita, MB    
Kate Loeppky Niverville, MB    
Russell Pauls La Riviere, MB    
Leah Richard Virden, MB    
Kiera Wortley Winnipeg, MB    
Cindy Ammerlaan Kenilworth, ON Adrian Bent Lawrencetown, NS
Gavin Brady Campbellcroft, ON William Cooper Great Village, NS
Jordan Burns Arthur, ON Luke Fisher Brookfield, NS
Jeremy Chevalley Moose Creek, ON Bevin MacLellan Kensington, PE
Sarah Dean Arnprior, ON Katie McAffee Lower Knoxford, NB
Alexandra Dockx Clear Creek, ON    
Kyle Farquharson Mount Brydges, ON    
Brooklyn Hughes Stayner, ON    
Zoë Mason Brampton, ON    
Michaela Ottens Walkerton, ON    
Emma Reijmers Dalkeith, ON    
Jordan Robinson Osgoode, ON    
Sadie Scott Lucknow, ON    
DeeAndra Skinner Centralia, ON    
Grace Squire Stayner, ON    
Matthew Vanek Dresden, ON