Select your preferred language.

Choisissez votre langue préférée

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Bayer Fund shares over $100,000 in funding with students through its Opportunity Scholarship Program

67 Canadian students pursuing post-secondary education in agriculture and food-related disciplines

Calgary, Alberta – Oct. 1, 2019 - A new crop of students entering their first year of post-secondary education in agriculture and food-related disciplines have started their studies with a bit of help from the Bayer Fund.

This year’s 67 winners were selected based on demonstrated academic achievement and leadership in their schools and communities. They were also required to secure a nomination from a farmer or food professional and write a short essay outlining the role they envision themselves playing in advancing Canadian agriculture in a sustainable way. Each student will receive a $1,500 scholarship to help cover the costs associated with their education.

“By assisting young people in their pursuit of a college or university education in agriculture or food, Bayer is investing in their future careers – and in the future of agriculture and food production in Canada,” said Trish Jordan, public & industry affairs director with Bayer’s Crop Science Division in Canada. “We will need the best and brightest minds to make meaningful contributions to our sector in the future for the benefit of farmers, consumers and our planet.”

The students – who come from both rural and urban regions across the country – have a wide variety of interests as they look to a future in Canadian agriculture and food. Some want to return to the family farm after earning their degrees, while others are interested in careers as agronomists, plant breeders, veterinarians, marketing professionals, dietitians or chefs.

All applications were reviewed by an independent judging panel that included: Robert Adamson, consultant and program director with Pembina Trails School Division; Brigitte Burgoyne, communications specialist, Cargill; Sue Clayton, executive director of Agriculture in the Classroom-Manitoba; Kelly Funke, communications specialist, Cargill; Wendy Kramer, academic advisor – degree programs with the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences at the University of Manitoba and John Morriss, production editor for Country Guide West.

Administered by Agriculture in the Classroom-Manitoba Inc. (AITC-M) for the Bayer Fund, a philanthropic arm of Bayer, the scholarship program received 140 applications from across Canada this year.

“We are honoured to partner with Bayer on this important program and be involved in selecting the scholarship winners,” said Sue Clayton, executive director of AITC-M. “The winning students already have impressive scholastic records and leadership achievements and we look forward to having them join our industry in the future.”

Thousands of deserving students have received over $2 million since the Canadian Opportunity Scholarship program was first introduced in Canada in 1991.

About the Bayer Fund

Bayer Fund is a nonprofit organization dedicated to strengthening the communities where Bayer customers and employees live and work by providing funding for food and nutrition, education and community development projects.

About Bayer

Bayer is a global enterprise with core competencies in the life science fields of health care and nutrition. Its products and services are designed to benefit people by supporting efforts to overcome the major challenges presented by a growing and aging global population. At the same time, the Group aims to increase its earning power and create value through innovation and growth. Bayer is committed to the principles of sustainable development, and the Bayer brand stands for trust, reliability and quality throughout the world. In fiscal 2018, the Group employed around 117,000 people and had sales of 39.6 billion euros. Capital expenditures amounted to 2.6 billion euros, R&D expenses to 5.2 billion euros. For more information, go to


Trish Jordan,
Public & Industry Affairs Director

NOTE: The complete list of 2019 Opportunity Scholarship winners, by province, is included below.

2019 Opportunity Scholarship Winners

Kassi Archambault Salmon Arm Caryn Baxter Whitecourt
Celina Chan Richmond Heidi Burrell Sundre
Sarah MacDonald Rock Creek Reid Caukill Red Deer County
Xin Lei (Selina) Su Surrey Luke Loman Picture Butte
    Alysia Medema Fort Macleod
    Reegan Molenaar Picture Butte
    Carson Neitz Stettler
    Esther Nooijen Stettler
    Ashley Owen Wrentham
    Allison Pudlowski Morinville
    Carter Reed Delia
    Courtney Taylor Warner
    Jacob Togstad Beiseker
Skylar Ackerman Chamberlain Eric Bossuyt Oak Bluff
Kelsey Acton Ogema Joryn Buchanan Crystal City
Megan Anderson Rosetown Taylor Good Hamiota
Clark Aylward Carrot River Kassidy Heapy Oak River
Shelby Bygrove Lloydminster Shavaughn Jochum St. Francois Xavier
Jenna Carnegie Regina Carter Kiel Teulon
Caylee Dorval Glaslyn George Meggison Goodlands
Kendall Junek Esterhazy Niomi Pantel Baldur
Kyle Kirzinger Viscount Megan Perih Dauphin
Morgan Lehmann Rosthern Benson Pizzey Binscarth
Katherine Meagher Assiniboia Cayla Pow Ridgeville
Shaylyn Novak St. Walburg Taylor Storoschuk Stuartburn
Kelsey Roulston Langenburg Jaden Van Den Bussche Treherne
Kaitlyn Sauser Churchbridge    
Noelle Adams Brantford Laurie Campeau St-Télesphore
Laura Benedict Kerwood Laurence Charbonneau Montreal
Tyson Black Foresters Falls Alexandre Dion Saint-Gervais
Kiel Coleman Monkland Andy Tessier St-Eugène de Grantham
Quinn Driscoll Seaforth    
Eric Ferguson Jerseyville MARITIMES
Angela Friesen Leamington Allyson Briggs Plaster Rock, NB
Vanessa Kloostra Monkton Wyatt Tompkins Hartland, NB
Amira Mallem Toronto Maria Duynisveld Wallace, NS
Kayla Peters Brownsville Emily Moxsom Fort Ellis, NS
Johannes Reneker Stratford Brett Spencer Great Village, NS
Janine Spichtig Avonmore    
Taylor VanderMeulen Brighton    
Thomas Zekveld Bowmanville