Loose smut


Names

zoom...
Loose Smutzoom...

Scientific Name

Ustilago nuda

Biology

Description

Loose smut occurs wherever wheat, spelt and barley are grown. The name loose smut describes the characteristic symptoms of the diseased heads as they extend from the boot in late spring. The kernels and glumes (chaff) are converted into black fungal spores which blow away, leaving only a sooty appearing rachis or spike.

The most obvious symptom is seen at heading time as the diseased heads emerge from the boot. The kernels and glumes have been converted to masses of black spores. These spores are soon blown away, leaving the rachis of the head bare.

Heads of infected plants usually emerge from the boot slightly earlier than normal. Prior to heading infected plants may have dark green, erect leaves, sometimes with chlorotic streaks. All of the floral parts of the head, except for the rachis and pericarp membrane, are invaded by mycelium of the fungus and converted into loose aggregates of smut spores (teliospores).

Occurence

Crops

  • Barley
  • Onions
  • Wheat

Control

Chemical Control

Products that control

  • Raxil

Search



Region:  Other

Find My Local Bayer Rep

Don't know your local
Crop Science representative?

Copyright © Bayer CropScience

Charbon nu


noms

zoom...
zoom...

scientific-name

Ustilago nuda

biologie

description

Le charbon nu est présent dans les régions de culture du blé, de l’épeautre et de l’orge. L’appellation « charbon nu » évoque les symptômes caractéristiques des épis atteints lorsqu’ils se dégagent de la gaine à la fin du printemps. Les grains et les glumes (balle) sont transformés en spores fongiques noires qui sont soufflées par le vent, ne laissant qu’un rachis ou un épi couvert de suie.

Le symptôme le plus évident se manifeste à l’épiaison lorsque l’épi maladie émerge de la gaine. Les grains et les glumes ont été transformés en masses de spores noires. Celles-ci sont bientôt soufflées par le vent, ne laissant que le rachis de l’épi dénudé.

Les épis des plants infectés émergent habituellement de la gaine un peu plus tôt que la normale. Avant l’épiaison, les plants infectés peuvent avoir des feuilles vert foncé bien dressées, striées parfois par la chlorose. Toutes les parties florales de l’épi, à l’exception du rachis et du péricarpe, sont envahies par le mycélium du champignon et sont transformées en masses de spores de charbon (téliospores).

occurence

crops

  • Barley
  • Onions
  • Wheat

control

lutte chimique

Produits que le contrôle

Recherchez



Région:  Other

Retrouvez Mon Représentant Bayer locale

Je ne sais pas votre représentant
BayerCropScience local?

copyright-bayercropscience-r